All I have to do is pick!

apple-pickingYou just never know what God is up to! I know He is busy in my life every day, but some days I may not realize it.
Then there was another day like yesterday.

Seven men from Lufkin Dream Center came to help me set up the computers and furnishings for Share-athon.
One of them loves to work with computers and told the others how to hook up the monitors, keyboards, mice, and network connections.

About an hour later we were through.

For some reason I just began to share what God had been doing in my life. I talked about my own experience with fasting. I also talked about the experience of some others.

I told them how I felt God’s Spirit in my life more than ever and what it was doing to me, my family, and my church. I feel this incredible desire to come before everyone that I am pastoring and to just serve them in a real ministry way.

I must have talked for over thirty minutes. One man had streaks of tears running down his face.
Another finally spoke up and said, “I’ve never fasted before.”

I told him how rewarding it would be to him. Come to find out he wasn’t supposed to be there. He wasn’t chosen to come and do this job but the chaperone that was with them had grabbed him at the last minute.

He spoke up again and told us he had really just started reading his Bible. The night before he read where Jesus fasted for 40 days. And that morning he had only had a cup of coffee and no breakfast.

“I believe God wants me to fast!” he said.

It was not by coincidence that this man was there. It was not by coincidence that I opened myself up to these strangers and shared some of my experiences over the past month.

One day the disciples were trying to get Jesus to eat something. I don’t know if He was fasting or not.
But Jesus replied, “I have a kind of food you know nothing about.”
They didn’t understand. “Did someone bring him food while we were gone?” the disciples asked each other.

Then Jesus explained: “My nourishment comes from doing the will of God, who sent me, and from finishing his work. You know the saying, ‘Four months between planting and harvest.’ But I say, wake up and look around. The fields are already ripe for harvest. The harvesters are paid good wages, and the fruit they harvest is people brought to eternal life. What joy awaits both the planter and the harvester alike! You know the saying, ‘One plants and another harvests.’ And it’s true. I sent you to harvest where you didn’t plant; others had already done the work, and now you will get to gather the harvest.” John 4:32-38

I have a better understanding of what Jesus said. His nourishment was in doing God’s will. This is more satisfying than food.

The work is still not finished. The harvest is ready. He used a story about planting and harvesting to get the point across to me that all I really have to do is go out and pick what is ripe.

There is someone today that I will meet that needs Jesus – maybe for salvation and maybe for encouragement. They are “ripe” for the picking. All I have to do is my part in God’s will.
Just do it!

4 thoughts on “All I have to do is pick!

  1. This really inspired and encouraged me to share the gospel with my classmates- at the right time of course 🙂 Thank you for sharing this wonderful post. This reminds me that we shouldn’t be afraid of sharing the word of God to our family, friends, or even strangers. What should scare us more is when we aren’t able to let them know God and His love and get saved. Thank you yet again 🙂
    – Mary

  2. Just don’t be so scared you don’t open your mouth. God said He’d be with your mouth…God will give you the words.

Leave a Reply

