On the Mountain Top!

mountain-top-crossYou have heard someone say, “I’m on the mountain top”, usually referring to a great experience. I know I have heard many Christians say it when it comes to the joy and peace of a filling of the Holy Spirit.

I know I have used it myself in referring to God dealing with me.

If you have ever been on a mountain you know the beauty you will see and the sense of accomplishment at getting up there. There is just an awe about looking around at the valleys below and the great expanse of the sky above. The air seems so fresh and clear. The noise of the world fades away as you gaze out over the landscape for miles and miles.

As I was reading this morning I came upon a mountain top experience.

Then he took the Book of the Covenant and read it aloud to the people. Again they all responded, “We will do everything the Lord has commanded. We will obey.”
Then Moses took the blood from the basins and splattered it over the people, declaring, “Look, this blood confirms the covenant the Lord has made with you in giving you these instructions.”
Then Moses, Aaron, Nadab, Abihu, and the seventy elders of Israel climbed up the mountain again. There they saw the God of Israel. Under his feet there seemed to be a surface of brilliant blue lapis lazuli, as clear as the sky itself. And though these nobles of Israel gazed upon God, he did not destroy them. In fact, they ate a covenant meal, eating and drinking in his presence! Ex 24:7-11

It started with the reading of God’s word, the Book of the Covenant. For me, the word of God is a necessity to life. I wish I could say I obey it with all my heart but I cannot. I can tell you that I desire to obey it and I pray that Father will let His word live in me every day.

Moses splattered blood over the people. That sounds kind of gross. But God’s word says without the shedding of blood, there is no forgiveness. Heb 9:22
Your forgiveness is through Jesus, who shed His blood for you.

Then Moses, the priests, and the elders climbed on the mountain and gazed upon God. Not only that – they ate and drank in His presence!

What an experience!

The sad thing is you can’t stay on the mountain forever. You have to come down to the people below.
The mountain experience was felt by seventy-three men. There were over a million at the base of the mountain that needed prayer, salvation, guidance, encouragement, help, counseling, and love.

The same is true for me. I have to come down from the mountain knowing that God is with me in the valley. I have to meet the people below and share what I have learned on the mountain. I must share God’s word and encourage them to climb and get nearer to God.

I want to encourage you to pray and seek God. Read His word. Fast and ask for the Holy Spirit to fill you so that you overflow with Him. Enjoy your time on the mountain and then come down and get busy with Father’s business!

One thought on “On the Mountain Top!

  1. Brother Tim, Thank you. You put divine experiences in understandable terms. Truely I hope there are many reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

