Fast For Others

fastingMy fast started out for three others – Trey, Hailey, and Courtney.
Ashley’s fast started out for her daughter, Courtney.
So is it Biblical to fast for someone else.
Read it for yourself.

Then Esther sent this reply to Mordecai: “Go and gather together all the Jews of Susa and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. My maids and I will do the same. And then, though it is against the law, I will go in to see the king. If I must die, I must die.” So Mordecai went away and did everything as Esther had ordered him. Est 4:15-17

Esther had an important decision to make and asked her uncle to fast for her, not only him but all of the Jews in the region.

Yet when they were ill, I grieved for them. I denied myself by fasting for them, but my prayers returned unanswered. Ps 35:13

David he fasted for others that were ill.

So it is Biblical to fast for other and to fast for yourself.

Either way it will change your life.

In the New Testament you can read there were several men together and one day as these men were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Dedicate Barnabas and Saul for the special work to which I have called them.” So after more fasting and prayer, the men laid their hands on them and sent them on their way. Acts 13:2-3

Just this past Tuesday I found myself fasting again. I wasn’t exactly sure why but it didn’t take long to find out.
Much like this verse I was fasting for some others and I laid hands on them and blessed them in Jesus name.

I pray that their lives will be changed.

3 thoughts on “Fast For Others

  1. Great point, and I have heard this question before as well. I never linked it with Esther though. Funny how the Bible always has an answer, sometimes it’s direct and other times not so much. Pretty cool 🙂 Bombarding you with comments, huh? Sorry

  2. Pingback: God's Will | Quality of Life Ministries

Leave a Reply

