The Fast Fast! (pt 1)

courtney1So I turned to the Lord God and pleaded with him in prayer and fasting. Dan 9:3

Allow me to talk about a different kind of fasting, which I did several Morning Thoughts ago.
There is a young lady that I have known since she was 5 years old. She is like a member of my family. Her name is Courtney.

I remember the days when this little girl would come up to me after church and hold her arms up. I would bend over and she’d wrap her arms around my neck. I’d stand up and let her dangle there a moment before holding her in one of my arms. She’d often lay her head on my shoulder while I shook hands and talked with the church members after service.

Now she is grown up and a 17-year old senior in high school. I have had the honor of baptizing her and being her pastor for the past 12 years.

Though she has been a wonderful Christian, this year she has taken her life with Christ very seriously.

Courtney knew I was fasting; everyone in church did. I told them so I could have their prayer support.

She showed some interest in fasting. One day I was watching her text on her phone and I made the statement, “If you prayed and read your Bible as much as you text on your phone – what kind of Christian would you be?”

That really got her to thinking and she decided to fast from her iPhone. Now for a teen this is a major deal!

On Sunday she prayed about it and Sunday night she made her decision. I remember her last message to me – well turning off my phone. here goes love ya PT!
And she was gone. She even had her dad get out an old alarm clock so she would not use the one on the iPhone.

She was looking for a couple of answers that I could not give to her. I gave her scripture but she needed to find it on her own.
Perhaps her prayer was something like this – Please listen and answer me, for I am overwhelmed by my troubles. Ps 55:2

Soon it would not be her troubles that would overwhelm her.

Since the first day you began to pray for understanding and to humble yourself (fast) before your God, your request has been heard in heaven. I have come in answer to your prayer. Dan 10:12

To be continued…

One thought on “The Fast Fast! (pt 1)

Leave a Reply

