If it’s called a Fast, then why is it so slow? (Pt 6)

fastingforGodThe strange thing about humbling yourself before God with prayer and fasting – it will make you do strange things.

I found myself waking up praying at 3am. I did not wake up to pray. I was awakened by praying in my sleep or something like that.

I would pray and drift in and out of sleep and then be wide awake at 4am. I would get up, get dressed, and go into the living room and prostrate myself on the floor to pray.

As of today, I am still waking up by 4am so I can pray. I ask the Lord to wake me at that hour and He does. It is then up to me to put my feet on the floor and get out of bed so that I can put all of me on the floor and worship Him.

It also continued to lead me to wash and anoint the feet of others.

It started with my wife, Linda. Then it was her sister and brother-in-law. And Linda and I decided to include the grandkids, Haylee and Braeden. This is so they would have an understanding of it in case all of us went to someone’s house to perform this.

Now recall that I am reading this book at work on Jesus and leadership; and the last thing I had on my mind from the book was washing feet.

I had taken my “kit”, as I called it, to work. This was a large container of water, anointing oil, paper towels, and the small foot tub.
I thought I would wash and anoint a particular person’s feet that Monday.
The closer the clock got to the time of our meeting the more uneasy I became. I was sick at my stomach and my hands were shaking. I thought it was just nerves and it would all settle down once I performed the washing and anointing.

It worsened.

I finally thought to myself, “this isn’t peace!” and I declared that I would not wash the feet of the one I had decided. I felt instant…INSTANT relief and peace.

Still I felt like someone needed this – I know I did!

During the prayer time, one of the ladies complained that her foot was hurting but she was rubbing her entire leg.
Then the general manager gave a short devotion on water.
I thought “foot and water” – hmmm?
At the end, Destini said she needed someone to pray over her foot. The manager looked at me and said, “Tim will pray for you!”

You don’t have to hit me over the head with a 2×4, Lord. I caught that!

So I asked everyone to leave so that just Destini and I were in the room. I told her my story about the book, Wellington Boone, and Dr. Evans. I then went to the back of the room and brought I my kit.
I washed and anointed Destini’s feet and I prayed healing on her.
When we were through she said her leg was much better and within 30 minutes she was back to normal.

I want to say that I do not claim to have healed her, but it is the Father that heals. If He chose me as His servant to be used for this purpose then I accept it.

The next day, Destini’s mom was really struggling. I was able to take her aside, wash and anoint her too.

Then Wednesday was the day set aside to meet and talk about the book. I hid my kit since I felt led to wash one of my coworkers.
As the meeting started, two other workers said they had something to do. They left the room and came back with pans and water.
I then brought out my kit.

The word of God says “The facts of every case must be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses” 2 Cor 13:1
We had our three.

Now the interesting thing is every one there had their feet washed that day. With the exception of two people that were not able to come to work that day – Destini and Denise.
But then God had already provided the previous two days before to meet their need.

I know I did not plan it.

God continued to do many things during that fast. Honestly, I am having trouble remembering all that happened because of the many things He has done since.

If you have never fasted before – then I encourage you to. Open up yourself to God.

Better yet, read what His word says about real fasting: This is the kind of fasting I want: Free those who are wrongly imprisoned; lighten the burden of those who work for you. Let the oppressed go free, and remove the chains that bind people. Share your food with the hungry, and give shelter to the homeless. Give clothes to those who need them, and do not hide from relatives who need your help.
“Then your salvation will come like the dawn, and your wounds will quickly heal. Your godliness will lead you forward,
and the glory of the Lord will protect you from behind.
Then when you call, the Lord will answer. ‘Yes, I am here,’ he will quickly reply. Isa 58:6-9

2 thoughts on “If it’s called a Fast, then why is it so slow? (Pt 6)

  1. I have only truly fasted one time, that I can recall, so this has struck a chord with me. I will be doing more as our Nation moves farther away from our Lord. Thanks my brother.

Leave a Reply

