If it’s called a Fast, then why is it so slow? (Pt 5)

Prayer&Fasting1clCol 3:15 – And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts.

In the middle of a dead zone I get a text from Linda that said, “I’m so sorry! What a disappointment!”
That text would stop me from going any farther.

I stopped at the Broaddus Cemetery road on the edge of town and called.

She was vague and very cryptic. Again she said, “You go on and do what you believe you need to do!”
And she hung up.
I was so conflicted. My stomach was in knots. I was confused.
While I was on the phone with her, Mark, my bass player, drove by. Normally if he sees me he stops.
He kept going. Later he would tell me that God said to him, “I’ve got this handled!”
Not knowing that I thought it very unusual that he did not stop.

I didn’t either. I put the truck in gear and began to drive back toward Galveston with my pan, water, paper towels, oil, and my conflict.
I got to the other side of town, maybe a bit more than a mile, and I pulled over.
I’m sitting there pondering should I go or should I stay.

Then I heard from God.
He said to me as clear as day, “Where there is conflict there is no peace!”

I sat for a moment and I prayed, “Lord, I really need to hear from You. I need direction. Should I go or not?”

Again I heard Him, “Where there in conflict there is no peace!”

Then my memory flooded with all kinds of things.
Amos 3:3 about two walking together in agreement.

The words of Linda – you do what you feel you have to do!

There was no God in her words. It wasn’t “you do what God is leading you to do!” It was all me and we were not in agreement. I was not in agreement with myself.

Other events kept passing through my mind.

I U-turned the truck around and the moment I did… OH, MY!
I felt such peace. It was a peace I had never experienced before. It was a peace that God had promised to give in Phil 4:7 – you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

I understood that verse. I understood it in its entirety. Not only understood – I was experiencing it.
And believe me when I say that there is no way I can express what I felt. Truly it does exceed anything we can understand.

On the way back home I was full of joy. I cried, I prayed, I praised God!

When I started up my driveway I could see Linda on the front porch. I didn’t even pull around on the carport. I pulled right into the front yard, jumped out of the truck, and shouted, with my arms in the air, “I love ya, baby!”

I sat on the porch and told her the whole story. When I was finished she was smiling, we were both at peace, and walking together.

I knew what I had to do though but it was in God’s timing and with peace.

He was still not through.

3 thoughts on “If it’s called a Fast, then why is it so slow? (Pt 5)

  1. Bro. Tim, you’re an example! Not an exception. My heart aches for men who don’t get it. A man & his wife are ONE!!! The lack of agreement causes unrest for both. So many have no idea of what’s wrong. And pride keeps the still small voice unheard. Many wont except the God given responsibilities of being a husband before God. And rejecting it does not make it go away!

Leave a Reply

