If it’s called a Fast, then why is it so slow? (Pt 4)

power-prayer-fastingJudg 6:36-40
Then Gideon said to God, “If you are truly going to use me to rescue Israel as you promised, prove it to me in this way. I will put a wool fleece on the threshing floor tonight. If the fleece is wet with dew in the morning but the ground is dry, then I will know that you are going to help me rescue Israel as you promised.” And that is just what happened. When Gideon got up early the next morning, he squeezed the fleece and wrung out a whole bowlful of water.
Then Gideon said to God, “Please don’t be angry with me, but let me make one more request. Let me use the fleece for one more test. This time let the fleece remain dry while the ground around it is wet with dew.” So that night God did as Gideon asked. The fleece was dry in the morning, but the ground was covered with dew.

That weekend several of my church families were going on a last summer weekend getaway to Galveston. I had planned on going down and taking pictures for all of them on the beach but this was also the day of my daughter’s baby shower, which preventing Linda, the grandkids and me from doing that.
Linda had mentioned that I should go down on Friday evening and spend the night but her heart wasn’t in her words.
On Friday I laid out a fleece before the Lord, much like Gideon did.
I prayed that if it was God’s will that I go, then Linda would say to me, “I’ve prayed about it and I believe you should go to Galveston!”
When I got home it didn’t happen.

I had toyed with the idea of going down early Saturday morning and be back by afternoon in order to meet my other obligation.
It didn’t happen.

Then I decided that we would go down at three that afternoon.
That didn’t happen.
I sat on the front porch with my wife. We need to always be in agreement with each other. We are one. And it is written in Amos 3:3 – Can two people walk together without agreeing on the direction?

I wasn’t agreeing with myself. I was conflicted. Should I go or should I not go. Go or not… go or not.
Linda told me, “You need to do what you feel led to do!”
Those words would come back to me later in a great revelation.

My brother-in-law had been having some dizzy spells that day. I told Linda that I was suppose to wash someone’s feet that day and perhaps it was Brock and Joann’s.
I drove to their home and asked if I could minister to them for a few minutes. They said yes.
I brought in a foot pan, water, paper towels, and some anointing oil.
They were very receptive as I washed, dried, and anointed their feet. I then prayed over them, asking for forgiveness of any offenses I may have done.
The Holy Spirit came upon both of them that afternoon.

When it was complete, I stood up and announced, “I have to go to Galveston!”
I left to go back home.
When I arrived I told Linda that I need to go. I could tell by her face she wasn’t in agreement with me.
I asked her to pray with me and for me. She did. Her heart wasn’t in it.
And I got in my truck and drove towards Galveston.

There is a dead zone of cellular activity between my church and Broaddus. It was in this zone that I thought that I needed to call the Galveston bunch and tell them I was coming to minister to them.
Of course I had no signal so I thought I would wait until I reached Broaddus.
It was in this dead zone that I got a text from Linda at 543pm – “I’m so sorry! What a disappointment!”

That stopped me in my tracks.

So what will I do? Find out more next time!

3 thoughts on “If it’s called a Fast, then why is it so slow? (Pt 4)

  1. Thank you for allowing God to use you to speak into my life and always at the right time. Please keep me in prayer during this time. God knows… What i fill i need is to not be so wordy do i can speak my heart not my hurt. My whole life is the story especially knowing that he sings over me and speaks my heart in song.

Leave a Reply

