If it’s called a Fast, why is it so slow? (Pt 2)

fasting can changeWhen you fast, don’t make it obvious, as the hypocrites do, for they try to look miserable and disheveled so people will admire them for their fasting. I tell you the truth, that is the only reward they will ever get. But when you fast, comb your hair and wash your face. Then no one will notice that you are fasting, except your Father, who knows what you do in private. And your Father, who sees everything, will reward you. Matt 6:16-18

Fasting is humility before God.
It denies your mind and body something it craves, whether that’s food, television, or an iPhone.
But it must be something that you are undeniable dependent on. You can’t fast with listening to the radio if you never listen to the radio.

I know many that have never fasted. The words of Jesus are, “When you fast…” not “If you fast…” I believe the Savior expected you to fast. It will be a reward to you.
Although you are about to read about my own two-week fast, I know several others that are now fasting.

Perhaps this will lead you in that direction. I know it will draw you closer to God.

So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come close to God, and God will come close to you. James 4:7-8

My fast was solid food in any form. I allowed water and fruit juice.

It was the first week of September 2013.
Two things were happening that week; first, Courtney, a 17-year-old young lady that I have known since she was 5, was having four teeth pulled for by request of her orthodontist. She was quite nervous about it and I had been sending her scripture in order to reassure her that God was going to be with her.

The second thing that was happening was the beginning of the ministry of our church youth leaders, Trey and Hailey. They had volunteered and felt led to take charge of the youth. This was a real need and blessing.

Courtney’s dental appointment and Trey & Hailey’s first youth Bible study were both happening on Wednesday, September 4th.

I decided to fast for all of them that day.

I did not plan on fasting for longer than that day but as God started dealing and convicting me of some things – I began to seek a closeness to Him.

God had other ideas.

With any fast there is a period of adjustment – a time of withdrawal. I am accustomed to eating. It is a natural part of my day.
As I began fasting I had to fight the temptation to rip open a bag of Lay’s potato chips and consume the whole thing – wrapper and all!

I can’t honestly say I sat down and read my Bible more. I mean I continued to read it.
The spiritual area that increased in my life was prayer.

Now I have said I did not plan on fasting any longer than that Wednesday of September 4th. And I actually did eat a handful right before church that evening after a 24-hour fast.

It’s the next Thursday morning and I am on-the-air filling in on the morning show. I am a DJ at a Christian radio station so I have to be in fine form and sharp mind to talk and play songs.

That morning at 6:15 something happened next time.

One thought on “If it’s called a Fast, why is it so slow? (Pt 2)

Leave a Reply

