If it’s called a Fast then why is it so slow? (pt 1)

fasting2I believe each Christian seeks a closer relationship with Father. Prayer and Bible reading are excellent ways to begin – there is no denying!
But look what God says in 2 Chron 7:14 – if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.

To really get improve the relationship with Abba Father the answer may be found in that verse.
It starts out with humility.
What is that?
The answer is found from God.

Ps 35:13 – I humbled myself with fasting
Deut 8:3 – So He humbled you, allowed you to hunger,

Fasting is an excellent way to seek Abba.
Moses was with the Lord forty days and forty nights; he neither ate bread nor drank water. And He wrote on the tablets the words of the covenant, the Ten Commandments.
Now it was so, when Moses came down from Mount Sinai (and the two tablets of the Testimony were in Moses’ hand when he came down from the mountain), that Moses did not know that the skin of his face shone while he talked with Him. Ex 34:28-29
Moses fasted, wrote God’s word, and the entire time was with God.
When he went down the mountain the glory of the Lord was on him.

Fasting opens your soul up to God and denies the flesh.

As in the example of Moses, fasting is often associated with food. Jesus and Elijah also fasted 40 days.
Jesus faced the temptation of Satan and angels came and ministered to Him. Elijah heard that still small voice.

But fasting does not have to be food. I once fasted from television. For some this may not be a problem but it was for me.
There is a young lady in my church and recently we talked and together we decided that if she spent as much time in Bible reading and prayer as she did texting, chatting, tweeting, and Facebooking – then her relationship with God would soar.

Well last night she made that decision and is fasting from her iPhone. I am praying for her as she is seeking God.

Over the next several Thoughts I’d like to share my experience with a recent fast.
And I encourage you to consider fasting and experience what God can do for you.

One thought on “If it’s called a Fast then why is it so slow? (pt 1)

Leave a Reply

