Law of Moses 106 – A Christian Perspective

torahSo here is the question one of my youth asked, “Do we still have to follow the Law of Moses?”
That is an excellent question and a sensitive one.
I have Christian friends that I respect that follow Torah, which, for all practical purposes, is the Law of Moses. Torah actually means Law and often refers to the first five books of the Bible, all written by Moses.
But these Torah Observant individuals do not sacrifice because Jesus has fulfilled that part of the Law and Prophets. I am thankful for their faith in Jesus and I do admire their desire to please God through Torah.

Do I believe it is necessary to observe the Law?
I have to refer to scripture as I understand it.

Paul addressed this in Rom 3:20 – for no one can ever be made right with God by doing what the law commands. The law simply shows us how sinful we are.
This is something you have already been shown – the Law shows you that you are sinful.

Paul went on to say in Rom 3:28 – we are made right with God through faith and not by obeying the law, and Gal 2:16 – yet we know that a person is made right with God by faith in Jesus Christ, not by obeying the law. And we have believed in Christ Jesus, so that we might be made right with God because of our faith in Christ, not because we have obeyed the law. For no one will ever be made right with God by obeying the law.”

These three verses are a good start but what else does the Bible say?

God made a covenant with Abraham and said, “Your responsibility is to obey the terms of the covenant. You and all your descendants have this continual responsibility. This is the covenant that you and your descendants must keep: Each male among you must be circumcised. “ Gen 17:9-10
This was incorporated into the Law – on the eighth day the boy’s foreskin must be circumcised. Lev 12:3

This procedure became a part of the Law and was a requirement by God for the Hebrew nation.
In Acts 15 there arose a disturbance in the church over the Gentile (non-Jewish people) being converted to follow the belief that Jesus is Messiah. Remember that when the early church began it was totally inhabited by Jews that had been accustomed to living under the Law of Moses.

This disturbance was concerning the circumcision of the Gentile converts. The church council met and determined that even circumcision was too restrictive on the freedom given through salvation in Christ.
The church elders decided in Acts 15:19-21 – “And so my judgment is that we should not make it difficult for the Gentiles who are turning to God. Instead, we should write and tell them to abstain from eating food offered to idols, from sexual immorality, from eating the meat of strangled animals, and from consuming blood.For these laws of Moses have been preached in Jewish synagogues in every city on every Sabbath for many generations.”

The council did not impose other restrictions on the Gentiles. They did not come back and determine the need to observe the entire Law, saying that the few restrictions placed on them would be sufficient.

Paul later said, “When we place our faith in Christ Jesus, there is no benefit in being circumcised or being uncircumcised. What is important is faith expressing itself in love.” Gal 5:6
To me Paul seems to be saying that it doesn’t matter if you follow circumcision under the Law or if you don’t. Love is what is important.

The Law said about Passover, this day shall be to you a memorial; and you shall keep it as a feast to the Lord throughout your generations. You shall keep it as a feast by an everlasting ordinance. Ex 12:14
But Jesus fulfilled this day with the sacrifice of Himself and indeed Christ, our Passover, was sacrificed for us. 1 Cor 5:7

Jesus becomes our Passover.
I personally celebrate my life in Christ Jesus every day. So I am celebrating Passover and the other fulfilled Feasts.

The Holy Spirit also testifies that this is so. For he says, “This is the new covenant I will make with my people on that day, says the Lord: I will put my laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds.” Heb 10:15-16
God’s Law is written on my heart to follow my Lord Jesus with all my heart.
I do not do it by command but by my free will to love, follow, and serve Him.

4 thoughts on “Law of Moses 106 – A Christian Perspective

  1. Pingback: Working towards nothing! Living for God! | The Word Against The World

  2. Hi Pastor Tim, I may have heard you on the radio Friday morning regarding Torah and that led me here to your site to investigate. I appreciate this subject very much. God revealed some things to me on Aug 5th of this year and I haven’t been the same since. In my subsequent search for truth I’ve been heavily researching our church history and the issue of Torah observance along with scripture as I understand it. I don’t know that I’ve consumed this much scripture nor studied this hard since maybe taking college bio-chemistry over 20 years ago! In summary I sense God calling me to be Torah observant out of obedience and love, not for salvation, yet I feel very alone in our Lufkin community here. You said you had Christian friends whom you respect that also follow Torah. If they are local I was hoping you might be open to and possibly consider forwarding them my email address for contact. I would very much like an opportunity to meet with others of similar understanding. They’re hard to find. God bless!

Leave a Reply

