A Thorn and Grace.

thorn-in-flesh“My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Cor 12:9
What does that really mean?
Is God’s grace sufficient for you and do you accept it as such?

Consider that this is because a man has, what he views as a problem – thorn in the flesh as he called it.
I fully understand the thorn, though in East Texas we call them stickers.
Many times I have had a sticker in my hand or foot. It seems the smaller it is the more irritating it is. And it’s not like you can just grab in and pull it out like the bigger ones.

So Paul had something that caused him discomfort, his thorn in the flesh. He prayed at least three times that the Lord would remove it.
This man that healed the sick, raised the dead, and preached the Gospel could not remove it himself. He sought God and God’s answer was, “No!”
Or was it?

God simply said, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”
That isn’t a “No” – it is better.
Think about those Christians you know that suffer and yet they continue to praise God.

My own grandmother wasn’t a wealthy woman, yet she was rich in the Lord. I would go with her to the store and before we left she would look at each tire on the car and then praise God that the tires were good.
That is accepting God’s sufficient grace. When she did, His strength became perfect in her weakness of not having new tires – but they were good.

Paul went on to say this in response to God, “Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Cor 12:9-10

I could never fully understand this – why Paul would gladly brag about his health issues rather than want healing.
That’s the thing, he did ask for healing and was told that grace was sufficient. What was he to do next; moan, groan, and complain?
No! He is to praise the Lord God because His grace is sufficient.
He praises God because he can be used with a thorn in his flesh.

What a testimony it is as others see you praise God in the most desperate of circumstances. When you lift up Jesus at that time, He will draw others to Him through you!

God does not leave you without hope and you should pray and ask God for what you need. If you need healing, then ask for it. God’s grace is sufficient enough for your healing.
Praise God in all things – even before you start praying your needs, praise Him first. You will quickly discover your prayers will change.
And you will too!

Leave a Reply

