What is truth? (part 2)

what-is-truth2The entirety of Your word is truth, Ps 119:160

I’m going to continue on the subject of truth.

Can there be more than one truth? I may be wrong but I don’t think there can in the exact same way.
For instance it is true that stop signs are red with white lettering. It is also true that stop signs are octagonal. But one truth deals with color the other with shape.
It is not true to say that a stop sign is red and round. Nor is it true to say the color of a stop sign is octagonal and its shape is red. Not only is it not true – it doesn’t make any sense.

Likewise there cannot be many ways to God. Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, and Christianity cannot all be true. I believe that the way of Christ is true, even though there may be true sayings uttered by Islam, Buddhism, and Hinduism. However their beliefs must all be true or it is a lie.

I was at a seminar several years ago and someone in our group asked what books each of us read. My answer was (and is) the Bible.
I was asked what other books. I said that all I read is the Bible. Once you have the truth why read something else.
I was deemed narrow minded.

Jesus said, “You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.” Matt 7:13-14
So I’d rather be narrow minded in my faith than broad minded with the world.

Being on a narrow way may seem restrictive but since it is the true way it is freeing. Jesus also said, “If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” John 8:31-32

God is love and He will not punish anyone. I hear that type of statement a lot. It is a half truth.
It is true that God is love – God is love, and he who abides in love abides in God, and God in him. 1 John 4:16
It is not true that He will not punish anyone – anyone not found written in the Book of Life was cast into the lake of fire. Rev 20:15
So though half is true the other half would be a lie and it makes the whole statement a lie.

The father of lies is Satan. Of him, Jesus said, “He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own resources, for he is a liar and the father of it.” John 8:44-45
Satan does nothing but speak lies though he can make it sound like the truth.
How can you tell the difference?
Know the truth and it will set you free.
Read the truth of the word of God and it will set you free from the lies of Satan.

For many deceivers (liars) have gone out into the world who do not confess Jesus Christ as coming in the flesh. This is a deceiver (liar) and an antichrist. 2 John 7

Read God’s word and know the truth.

One thought on “What is truth? (part 2)

  1. I have never liked to read. I still don’t. However I have read the Bible all the way through. And go back and study it. When I read any thing else I feel I’m being unfaithful. No other book Is devoid deception. No where else can I find answers to the problems arising in my life. No other book exposes God’s own heart, His will, nor explains the Holy Spirit s job & power…living in me.

Leave a Reply

