Judge yourself!

judge yourselfI had someone ask me about judgment. Are you judged even if you are saved? I believe you are but there are restrictions.

It is written, if we would judge ourselves, we would not be judged. 1 Cor 11:31
When I first heard the Gospel message I ignored it. I determined (judged) that I did not need it. But after some time I judged myself and decided that I did need the forgiveness offered by Jesus. I accepted Him as Savior. I saw within the pages of the Bible what God demanded of me and I was failing.
I read that the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Rom 6:23
I was convicted and plead for Jesus to forgive me and save me. He did.
So I have fulfilled the scripture and will not be judged for death, as written in Revelation. (more on that later)

I am now building on the foundation that Christ has laid.
Paul said, “Let each one take heed how he builds on it. For no other foundation can anyone lay than that which is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if anyone builds on this foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, each one’s work will become clear; for the Day will declare it, because it will be revealed by fire; and the fire will test each one’s work, of what sort it is. If anyone’s work which he has built on it endures, he will receive a reward. If anyone’s work is burned, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire.” 1 Cor 3:10-15

The fire that tests each work is judgment. But these are those that have accepted Jesus and are building on His foundation. Some of these works survive because they are good works unto the Lord. Others are burned up, judged unworthy and destroyed, because they are selfish and sinful.
It speaks of those whose works are burned and destroyed but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire.
The foundation (Jesus) still there and this person is saved, as I say, by the skin of his teeth.
The ones judged here had already judged themselves and determined they needed Jesus as Savior and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin. 1 John 1:7

When most think of judgment it is the final one revealed in Revelation. This judgment is for those that have not judged themselves. They think they are just fine the way they are. Perhaps they followed other (false) gods, are atheists, agnostics, or were raised around church but think they’re good deeds will gain them entrance into eternal life.

Then I saw a great white throne and Him who sat on it, from whose face the earth and the heaven fled away. And there was found no place for them. And I saw the dead, small and great, standing before God, and books were opened. Rev 20:11-12
I believe these “books” are the 66 books of the Bible. These are judged by their works against the Law and the Prophets.

But God is a just and fair God. And another book was opened, which is the Book of Life. And the dead were judged according to their works, by the things which were written in the books. The sea gave up the dead who were in it, and Death and Hades delivered up the dead who were in them. And they were judged, each one according to his works. Then Death and Hades were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death. And anyone not found written in the Book of Life was cast into the lake of fire. Rev 20:12-15
A final book is opened – the Book of Life. Should your name appear in it you may stay. It appears that everyone at this judgment is lacking.
Punishment is inevitable and harsh.
All because these did not follow the beginning scripture and judge themselves individually and discover they needed Jesus as Savior.

Judge yourself today. Discover that you need Jesus as your Savior.

3 thoughts on “Judge yourself!

  1. Very well explained. I’ve not seen that issue layed out in that light. Thanks. Speaks to the first and second death at the judgement as well.

  2. tim, I think that Bro. Anderson and Gaylor( and his lisp) really taught you the truth; but I guess that at the point of your salvation, He (Christ) revealed it to you.

Leave a Reply

