Sick for God

grace2This sickness is not unto death, but for the glory of God. John 11:4

I am starting to see more people come to CrossRoads for healing prayer. It’s a variety of many things and the recipients are different ages.
Is it possible to be sick and it be the will of God?
I think it can be.

You may not be able to control the disease or sickness (other than prayer) but you can control your fear and attitude towards it.
You can determine to praise God in sickness and praise God in healing.

Our scripture on the death and resurrection of Lazarus is a story that allows him to be overcome by a sickness and allowed to die.
Paul in his letter to Timothy said, “ Erastus stayed in Corinth, but Trophimus I have left in Miletus sick.” 2 Tim 4:20
Not to mention Paul’s on demise of a “thorn in the flesh” – Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me. And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Cor 12:8-10
So it seems to follow that the Lord desires you to praise Him no matter what your situation.

It’s easy to praise God when everything is going well. When your finances are fine, your health is great, and there are no problems.
When things start going sour it becomes more difficult to worship, praise, and glorify Him.
God’s word is healing, whether you speak it from your mouth, listen to it, or read it; He sent His word and healed them, Ps 107:20

If you can praise God when things are at they’re very worse then you can praise God when things are at they’re very best.
I know no one wants to be sick; no one wants to hear the word tumor, cancer, disease, tests, MRI, CAT scan or similar; but if you do use it as an opportunity to praise God.

3 thoughts on “Sick for God

  1. this concerns facebook. I read all of your posts but do not understand what you wanted us to do. sorry
    I am very llimited when it comes to the computer

  2. Love this. His word is an amazing thing for us to use, see, feel, hear and know.. Bless you brother for this daily thought. Love it.

Leave a Reply

