How long?

how longHow much time elapsed between you hearing the Gospel and believing the Gospel?
In other words, how long did it take you to accept Jesus as Savior from the first time you heard the Message?

I can remember being taken to church as a little boy and hearing the pastor give the invitation to come forward, repent, and accept the Lord.
I never did.
I remember learning about Jesus in Sunday School and VBS and still I did not accept Him.

It was not until I was almost 18 years old before I realized that I needed Jesus as Savior and that was through the Gospel message I read in a tract.

My great-grandfather was around 90 when he accepted Jesus as his Savior but I do not know how much time went by from hearing the word to accepting the word.

A few days later Felix came back with his wife, Drusilla, who was Jewish. Sending for Paul, they listened as he told them about faith in Christ Jesus. As he reasoned with them about righteousness and self-control and the coming day of judgment, Felix became frightened. “Go away for now,” he replied. “When it is more convenient, I’ll call for you again.” He also hoped that Paul would bribe him, so he sent for him quite often and talked with him. Acts 24:24-26

Felix listened to Paul share the Gospel, to the point that it frightened him. That’s conviction.
He listened to the point that he sent Paul away and said he listen a bit more at a more convenient time. Again, that’s conviction nestled with curiosity.
How long did this go on?

After two years went by in this way, Felix was succeeded by Porcius Festus. And because Felix wanted to gain favor with the Jewish people, he left Paul in prison. Acts 24:27

For two years Felix talked with Paul and heard the Gospel. And for two years he rejected Jesus as Messiah and Savior.
Why do I believe this? He left Paul in prison.

Two years is a long time to listen to the Truth and not believe it. As a pastor I’ve seen people sit in one time and be convicted. I’ve watched as others are convicted week after week. Sometimes someone will accept Jesus the first time they’re under conviction; sometimes it takes several months.

I think the moral to the message is never give up – never stop praying for and sharing Jesus with those you know need Him. Even if it takes years, keep pressing on!

One thought on “How long?

  1. I am so thankful it is the Holy Spirit doing the work in me because I get hurt and want to give up & go away. Thank God He doesn’t go away. He hung in there with me for years. When I was a preschooler a S.S. teacher said I would be one of God’s little lambs. My thought, If I had to turn into a four footed fuzzy animal to go to heaven, I did not want to go there. At 17 I visited a church & left beside myself. My friend called her pastor who prayed with me over a kitchen chair. Someone tapped my shoulder & told me I was now in the family of God. It seemed as though everything had been dusted with glitter, I was baptized. Three months later, I did not remember the name of Jesus and was right back where I started. Eight years later a war was going inside of me. Our five yr, old found answers to her questions at our neighbors church. So, I went…I found THE ANSWER ! I understand that my salvation is personal, yet it is to be lived out as a witness to all. That’s not always easy. Some times the pushing back, the being held down is to much and I think I’ll break. But God, it is He does does the work in me. If not for Him I’d be a failure. His Word will not return to Him void.

Leave a Reply

