Transformed by Prayer

transformed by prayerYou may spend an incredible amount of time on the phone, texting, or on Facebook.
If you were to guess how much time you spent doing these things – what would be your estimation.
I know some that always get close to the limit on their thousand minute plan.
A thousand minutes! That’s over 16 ½ hours of talking a month.
I communicate through text but not excessively. My main use is Facebook. I’ve got it on at work, usually in the background. I have it at home and on my iPhone.

I don’t think I spend too much time doing any of it but then I may be in denial!

Once again the scripture says do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. Rom 12:2

Yesterday I took a look at how Jesus spent His time with Father, the disciples, and the public.
Would you consider this behavior conforming to the world? Do you think Jesus would have been caught up with texting and social networking?

When Jesus spent time with Father, there was (and is) only one way to do it – prayer!
It is mentioned in the Bible around 44 times that He prayed.
Often He prayed alone.

Matt 14:23 And when He had sent the multitudes away, He went up on the mountain by Himself to pray.
Mark 1:35 Now in the morning, having risen a long while before daylight, He went out and departed to a solitary place; and there He prayed.
Luke 9:18 And it happened, as He was alone praying, that His disciples joined Him,

I, too, often pray alone. I can’t say the reason Jesus did is the same as mine. I pray alone because I will name names and say things to Father that I would not do in public. I can get down and personal when it’s just me and Father.

I’ve noticed that Jesus also prayed before meals. And Jesus took the loaves, and when He had given thanks He distributed them to the disciples, John 6:11
That’s something most Christians teach children to do but is it done on a consistent basis or just on holidays and when you have company?

Jesus also prayed in public; only when He did He was over the top! At the tomb of Lazarus He first requested the stone be removed and then said, “Father, I thank You that You have heard Me. And I know that You always hear Me, but because of the people who are standing by I said this, that they may believe that You sent Me.” John 11:42
This prayer was followed by the miracle of raising Lazarus from the dead.
Do you have the ability to pray boldly on faith in public?

It’s one thing to pray before a miracle but what happens afterward?
Again Jesus gives the answer. After healing a leper it is recorded the report went around concerning Him all the more; and great multitudes came together to hear, and to be healed by Him of their infirmities. So He Himself often withdrew into the wilderness and prayed. Luke 5:15-16

There is also a place of prayer that you have probably attended, just as Jesus did. But remember He prayed in all of the previous ways and reasons.
Jesus also prayed before big decisions.
Now that’s one I can sink my teeth into. When I have a major issue ahead I can really get deep in prayer.
And He was withdrawn from them about a stone’s throw, and He knelt down and prayed, saying, “Father, if it is Your will, take this cup away from Me; nevertheless not My will, but Yours, be done.”
Then an angel appeared to Him from heaven, strengthening Him. And being in agony, He prayed more earnestly. Then His sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground. Luke 22:41-44

It shouldn’t only be the big decisions that you and I pray over – but every decision!

What I want you to realize is that prayer was important to Jesus. He set an example for us. Prayer was an important part of His life not just an afterthought or an add on. It was ingrained in his life.

…but be transformed by the renewing of your mind… (Rom 12:2)
Prayer will transform your life and renew your mind!

3 thoughts on “Transformed by Prayer

Leave a Reply

