Church Camp Day!

Our church camp group in 2004

Our church camp group in 2004

It’s finally here!
It’s a day I really look forward to all year. It seemingly takes forever to arrive and is then gone in no time.
It is Ark-La-Tex Family Church Camp day!

I know the campers from my church have been super excited about going for weeks. So have I.
I just feel like this is going to be a great camp this year – not that the past years haven’t been great!

I went through the camp pictures from the past and have determined that our first year to attend was in 2002, the only year I didn’t take pictures. So this will be our 11th year. Through those eleven years I have come to consider the men and women as friends and family. I look forward to seeing and talking with them once again, though I keep up with many on Facebook.

While many of the adults change very little throughout the years, it’s the kids that I can’t keep up with. There are a few that have really touched my heart and life. But kids become teens; teens graduate from high school, go to college, or work, and you don’t see them much anymore.
When I was writing about Terry last week  I came upon the camp picture of Cristan, a young lady from Terry’s group that I led to Christ. There’s just a special connection between two people that share that moment of salvation together. But I haven’t seen Cristan in about 4 years.
Many other young adults that I met won’t be back this year, including some from my own church. It makes me just a little sad.

However my sadness will give over to excitement at this year’s lesson plan and theme. I think it is over the top! It deals with renewal, something you could use every day!

This year’s scripture will come from Romans – I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. Rom 12:1-2

I am looking forward to leaving in a few hours, while some are already on their way, like Al and Linda from Gulf Shores, Alabama. They’ll spend 10 hours on the road with their kids just to come to Daniel Springs. They are great friends and I am looking forward to seeing them again.

So please pray for our church camp this year. I just feel like this could be a new beginning for many of those attending. Some need Jesus as Savior and others need a renewing.
I would ask that you pray for me as I teach the adults again.
I also want to be sensitive and discerning to the leading of the Holy Spirit and help guide those that need it closer to Christ.

Our church camp group in 2012

Our church camp group in 2012

One thought on “Church Camp Day!

  1. There is nothing about the Word of God that is not to love. It’s God revealing Himself. It’s His love drawing us in. It’s everything we need and more. A truly marvelous thing is that it is for every one at all times. I am thankful there are those willing , and able to be laborers. And thankful to the Father for the many blessings poured out on all.

Leave a Reply

