Goodbye… So long, my friend!

Terry and I at church devo time back in 2009.

Terry and I at church devo time back in 2009.

I am a friend to anyone who fears you—anyone who obeys your commandments. Ps 119:63

Church camp is next week! I am just as excited as the church kids. It’s bittersweet though. Yesterday I received word that one of the adults that had come to camp died in May.

I’ll have to say that I liked Terry Duncan from the beginning. He was around my age, short and stocky. He had been involved with his local sheriff’s department and so I called him “sheriff”.

He brought a group of kids from a church in Sulphur Springs, Texas called Greenpond Baptist Church. The year I was Education Director, he was one of my teachers.

I remember the evening my church group joined his group for devotion. Afterwards Terry approached me and asked if I couldn’t talk to one of his young girls about Jesus and salvation. Sometimes it’s easier to get a different person the child doesn’t know to explain salvation. I did talk to her and she received Jesus as Savior.

I remember the year he came after having a back injury. I asked him what had happened. He said, “Did you ever see a 300-lbs man on a water slide?”
“No” I replied.
Terry told me, “Don’t! It’s not a pretty sight!”
Evidently he had hurt his back on one of those air-powered water slides at Vacation Bible School.

Terry and I had lots of sit-down-talks about things. I gave him some advice and he would pray for me.

Things change and people change and Terry left that particular church which also kept him from coming to church camp any more. In fact, it’s been about four years since I’ve seen him. Now I will have to wait even longer to see him again.

My heart and prayer is for his wife and kids that he left behind. They, too, will have to wait a while to see him.

Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His saints. Ps 116:15

I'm getting hugs from some of Terry's church kids. (2009)

Getting hugs from some of Terry’s church kids. (2009)

Leave a Reply

