Addict

addictionI am an addict!

I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate. But if I know that what I am doing is wrong, this shows that I agree that the law is good. So I am not the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me that does it. Rom 7:15-17

Before I go any further I want to say that addictions don’t just deal with drugs or alcohol.
I spoke with someone yesterday about it and she admitted being addicted to diet Coke and was in the process of ending it.

I was addicted to Book Radio but that’s ended, cold turkey, because the service ended. While there was nothing inherently wrong with Book Radio, there were many books that I listened to with unwholesome messages and stories.

What other ungodly addictions do I have?
I know the television gives me ample opportunity to watch something that is unedifying.

Once again God’s word gives the answer for me: I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him. Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. Rom 12:1-2

The answer lies in more time with Father in prayer, Word reading, and thinking about what I learn.

Leave a Reply

