Remove the Dross in Me!

proverbs-17-3I asked the Lord to help me know of His word; to learn more about Him. I want His thoughts to be my actions.

You may know that I have been a fan of SiriusXM Book Radio. I can listen to an audio book better than reading one.
Over the past three years I have heard mysteries, detective novels, autobiographies, historical accounts, sci-fi, and westerns.
Along with them came some bad language and some anti-Christian writing.
It was easy to tune to an alternate channel or turn off the radio when the language was ugly.

Over the past two weeks or so, it was a book called The Templar Legacy. It was a cloak and dagger novel that ended with Jesus being crucified but not resurrected.
Though the book accuses the Bible of contradictions and rewrites to formulate the resurrection story, I found many flaws in the theology of the novel.
I deemed it as good exercise for my brain in discovering the counterfeits of some theology.
But I remember an old saying – garbage in, garbage out!

Perhaps God didn’t want me polluted my brain with these other books, even in audio form.
Perhaps God would rather I stick with His book, which I believe is the truth!

So yesterday morning I went on-line to see the schedule line up for the week on Book Radio but Book Radio has been discontinued.
I ended up canceling my SiriusXM subscription since 90% of my listening was Book Radio.
Not only does it keep my mind from being polluted by anti-Christ books but it also will save me money.

I read my Word everyday but it did not compare to how much I listened to audio books.

Looking back I find myself being analogous of Israel’s King Asa.
When Asa heard this message from Azariah the prophet, he took courage and removed all the detestable idols from the land of Judah and Benjamin and in the towns he had captured in the hill country of Ephraim. And he repaired the altar of the Lord, which stood in front of the entry room of the Lord’s Temple. 2 Chron 15:8
Although the pagan shrines were not removed from Israel, Asa’s heart remained completely faithful throughout his life. 2 Chron 15:17
Asa was completely faithful to God but he failed to remove all of the pagan influence from Israel.
It continues to another generation – Jehoshaphat was a good king, following the ways of his father, Asa. He did what was pleasing in the Lord’s sight. During his reign, however, he failed to remove all the pagan shrines, and the people never fully committed themselves to follow the God of their ancestors. 2 Chron 20:32-33
Again, a good king that failed to remove the evil influence from his kingdom.

I want to remove the evil, pagan influence from my life and let God have complete dominion.
I can tell there are some other things that must be removed.
As it is written remove the impurities from silver and the sterling will be ready for the silversmith. Prov 25:4

4 thoughts on “Remove the Dross in Me!

  1. Tim you have already “quit preaching, and started meddling”. Just Kidding! This is definitely an area I can improve in. My prayers are with you and please pray for me.

  2. Robert…If I am meddling it’s only in my own life. However…fall out from that is not my doing! 😉

  3. There is foul language every where. After a while it gets into my head…then the battle is on. I see (hear) family & friends using it. For the sake of peace I’ve kept my mouth shut. Then I remembered there is a sin of omission. And too, I’m so tired of sweat water & bitter coming out of the one well. I’ve begun speaking to people about it. They seem to be so confused. They are used to it & see no hard. I’m making myself unpopular & misunderstood. By no means am I holier than any one. Just tired of putting up with what I don’t like.

Leave a Reply

