Don’t miss out – you’ll miss a lot

not going to churchI was glad when they said to me, “Let us go into the house of the LORD. Ps 122:1
If you are a born again believer and don’t go to church, you’re going to miss something wonderful!
I believe something happens at church every time the doors are opened but there may be that one time where something so spectacular happens and if you’re not there you will miss it completely.

I recall a Sunday morning in 1976 when I stepped forward to tell the church I felt God’s call on my life to be a minister.
Everyone was so excited.
After church I was invited over to some friends house for Sunday dinner and relaxing fellowship. There was nothing unusual about this on a Sunday, so my mom had no need to worry. It was very late in the afternoon before I made it home.

My mother lightly scolded me for not calling her and telling her that I had surrendered to the ministry.
Her scolding and disappointment laid a guilt trip on me for years.

Then again, it really isn’t my fault. She should have been in church that Sunday; and the Sunday before and the Sunday after.
You never know when something wonderful will take place at church.

Don’t you want to be there when the least expected person in your community comes forward and accepts Jesus as Savior?
You don’t want to miss that cute little 5-year old girl making her singing debut.
Or how about when Holy Spirit pours Himself on everyone in a Pentecost-type experience.
You don’t want to miss church, you’ll miss a lot!

2 thoughts on “Don’t miss out – you’ll miss a lot

  1. Reblogged this on shaynroby and commented:
    Shayn Roby’s Take: Spending time in the House of the Lord almost always opens the door for some sort of blessing. The Lord never ceases to amaze those of us that love Him.

Leave a Reply

