Let an irritation change your attitude for the better.

irritationYou will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you! Isa 26:3

There are some things that irritate me.

Drivers that won’t drive the speed limit don’t irritate me until they allow 15 cars to stack up behind them and they won’t move over to the shoulder and let everyone pass.

It annoys me when people park their shopping cart right in the middle of the aisle and they stand there seemingly oblivious that others can’t get by. It’s so easy to park the cart next to the shelves and be courteous to others.

Here’s a good one. It really irritates me that there are 500 people in Walmart trying to shop and check out and there are only 5 registers open.

But here is the thing about what bothers you – it’s in your control to change how you feel about it.

Since I can’t get around that line of 15 cars I may as well enjoy the ride and look at the scenery.
I can say, “Excuse me sir” to the guy whose parked in the middle of the aisle. Perhaps my courtesy will prevent someone else from chewing him out.
And I can strike up a conversation with a stranger in the checkout line. We may have something in common other than being griped about Walmart.

The best way to rid yourself of irritants is to keep your mind set on God. He gives peace!
Jesus said, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.” Matt 22:37
When I give Him my mind, He will change it.
That is a really good thing because the carnal mind is enmity against God; for it is not subject to the law of God, nor indeed can be. So then, those who are in the flesh cannot please God. Rom 8:7-8

The Bible encourages you to let the Spirit renew your thoughts and attitudes. Eph 4:23

I get up every day and read my Bible. I pray. I make a decision to bless the day and to keep my mind and thoughts on what God would have me do.
And though I still get irritated and annoyed, it is only during those times I take my mind off God and put it on the circumstances around me.

Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. Col 3:2

One thought on “Let an irritation change your attitude for the better.

  1. There are undoubtedly lots of details like that to take into consideration. Which is a terrific point to bring up. I offer you the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly you will find questions like the 1 you bring up where by far the most very important factor will be working in honest great faith. I don?t know if preferred practices have emerged about items like that, but I am positive that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.
    jordan shoes http://jordanslafg.998869.n3.nabble.com/Inexpensive-Jordan-Footwear-food-in-conjunction-with-unprecedented-bull-td2.html

Leave a Reply

