What you will leave behind!

old_man_with_childChildren’s children are the crown of old men, and the glory of children is their father. Prov 17:6

What will you leave behind for your children?
I’m not talking about the house, stamp collection, dishes, and municipal bonds. I’m talking about the real things they will remember – the things that will change their lives and lead them to change others.

A father’s influence will not only impact his children, it will impact his grandchildren, his great-grandchildren, and his great-great-grandchildren. The values fathers pass on to their children today, whether sinful or godly, will be passed on to their children in the future.

I remember certain things my great-grandfather taught me; old-timey things about growing, drying, and twisting tobacco. He taught me about digging up snake-root. I remember one time, while squirrel hunting, he said he always shot the squirrel in the eye with his .22 so that it didn’t ruin the meat.

To this day when I sharpen the lawn mower blades, I can still hear my grandpa telling me not to sharpen so deep on the bevel.

I’ve learned much from all that were before me – parents, grand-parents, and great grand parents.
My grandmother Swanson and Aunt Sarah were Godly women that taught me the Gospel, carried me to church, and prayed for me.

I am not the only one that can claim such legacy.

Consider the impact of the life of one godly man, Jonathan Edwards. A great preacher in American history who lived at a time of great spiritual awakening, he was renowned for his message, “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God.” In addition to being a pastor, he was the President of Princeton University, an author, and the father of 11 children.

Of Jonathan Edwards’ known male descendants, more than 300 became pastors, missionaries, or theological professors. Another 120 descendants became college professors, 110 became attorneys, 60 were prominent authors, 30 became judges, and 14 served as presidents of universities or colleges. Three descendants served in the U. S. Congress, and one became the Vice President of the United States.

A very busy man who reputedly spent 13 hours each day in study, Jonathan Edwards still made a habit of spending an hour at home with his children every day. He took time to be with them, and what a legacy he left!

Legacy is going missing now. There are too many families missing dad. Or dad and mom are so busy, that quality time with the children is missing. Children are raised by secular schooling, television, ungodly music, and video games.

It has got to change now or there will be nothing left to change later. The only way it’s going to change is for families to return back to the way Almighty God meant for them to live!

Leave a Reply

