Mom’s Day

mothers_day1Sunday is Mother’s Day, a day of cards, flowers, and eating out for lunch. Many sermons will be given about moms.
The Bible certainly gives a lot of material. Many ministers may pick Mary the mother of Jesus as the sermon subject.
Though she is an excellent source of encouragement, I prefer some of the others.

One of my favorite stories is about Rebekah.
She had twin boys – Jacob and Esau. Her favorite son is Jacob while her husband, Isaac, prefers Esau.

One day Isaac was talking with Esau about giving him his inheritance, also known as the blessing.

But Rebekah overheard what Isaac had said to his son Esau. So when Esau left to hunt for the wild game, she said to her son Jacob, “Listen. I overheard your father say to Esau, ‘Bring me some wild game and prepare me a delicious meal. Then I will bless you in the Lord’s presence before I die.’ Now, my son, listen to me. Do exactly as I tell you. Go out to the flocks, and bring me two fine young goats. I’ll use them to prepare your father’s favorite dish. Then take the food to your father so he can eat it and bless you before he dies.”
“But look,” Jacob replied to Rebekah, “my brother, Esau, is a hairy man, and my skin is smooth. What if my father touches me? He’ll see that I’m trying to trick him, and then he’ll curse me instead of blessing me.”
But his mother replied, “Then let the curse fall on me, my son! Just do what I tell you. Go out and get the goats for me!” Gen 27:5-13

Is there something wrong with this picture?
Now I know how it turned out. I know that later God said, “Yet Jacob I have loved; But Esau I have hated.” Mal 1:2-3

Even though Jacob gets the blessing, is renamed Israel, and has a family that becomes the 12 tribes of Israel – there is still something divisive with the way it went down.

First, this mom (and dad) showed favoritism, which divided the family. It divided the children. Esau is dad’s favorite while Jacob is a momma’s boy.

She also devised a plan to lie and deceive her husband. What would cause a mother to scheme against her husband to the benefit of one son over the other? Was there a rift between her and Isaac?
We may never know the answer to these questions; but many of these problems still exist.

Today there are divisions in the family over the children. With many households having both parents working; both come home exhausted and tired. The homework has to be done or the kids are in a ballgame and need transportation. Supper, laundry, clean the house – so much has to be done.
Mom is tired! Dad is tired!
Here is a Biblical message for the dad (husband) – In the same way, you husbands must give honor to your wives. Treat your wife with understanding as you live together. She may be weaker than you are, but she is your equal partner in God’s gift of new life. Treat her as you should so your prayers will not be hindered. 1 Peter 3:7

Mom’s and dad’s are equal partners in God’s kingdom and the family.
Sunday should not be the only day that mom’s (and wives) are honored. She should be honored every day!

 

3 thoughts on “Mom’s Day

  1. What is it that keeps men from seeing and preforming the Word of God toward their wives? Again the same for the wives toward their husbands? I do believe seeing a sermon says more than hearing one. Although some are not loud enough. This is a weakness in the body of Christ. I do love seeing Christian men honoring their wives, and Christian women careing for their husbands as God has prescribed. We must turn our back on the ways of the world (it does not work) and follow God’s ways!

Leave a Reply

