Three-way marriage!

Linda and me on our wedding day in May 1979.

Linda and me on our wedding day in May 1979.

In 1979 I was getting ready to get married. The date was set for May 4th so there was much to do at this point.

I had read where God had said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper who is just right for him.” Gen 2:18

I knew there was someone “just right for me” and I believed with all my heart that I had found that one person in Linda.
The decision to get married was not spur of the moment or taken lightly. We had known each other for five years. We had our share of ups and downs – together times and break up times.
I had prayed and fasted for that person that God wanted me to be with and the answer was Linda.

I have not always been the best husband. Being married did not come natural for either of us. Up until that point I thought more about me and what I wanted. I had no brothers or sisters. I did not have to share my possessions. Momma took care of me.
I was about to have a rude awakening and some of that awakening made me angry and upset.

Linda, on the other hand, had an older brother and younger sister. She knew what it was like to fight over the last piece of chicken on the supper table. She knew the feeling of being compared to her siblings. She had to share her makeup, her room, and her bed with her younger sister. She often cleaned the house, cooked supper, and was a caretaker around the house along with her mom.
She was also about to have a rude awakening and some of that would also make her angry and upset.

Both of us can say it hasn’t always been easy for two people that had so little in common. But the one thing we did have in common is the most important – we both trust Jesus as our Savior. We believe in God’s word. We go to church and we both pastor a church, in our own ministries.

Linda and I claim this – Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their labor. For if they fall, one will lift up his companion. But woe to him who is alone when he falls, for he has no one to help him up.
Again, if two lie down together, they will keep warm; but how can one be warm alone?
Though one may be overpowered by another, two can withstand him. And a threefold cord is not quickly broken. Eccl 4:9-12

Our reward for our labor is a beautiful family that we love, though problems may exist.
When I’m down she encourages me. When she needs to sound off about things I am here to listen.
We keep each other warm. We keep each other company. We help each other. We love each other.
But the most important part of our marriage is the “threefold cord” – GOD!

Have we ever been angry or upset with one another? Yes, but God won’t let us be that way very long. Conviction from the Holy Spirit nudges us to forgive and forget.

I encourage all couples, whether you have been married for years or you’re about to take the vows – make God the center of your relationship!

3 thoughts on “Three-way marriage!

  1. Congrats to you and Linda. Sherri and I were married a few years later, on May 4…

  2. Neither of us knew Christ as Lord until years after the “I do s”. The difference is near unexplainable. Being able to reconize the hand of God on us, and knowing His heart in a matter has caused us to win the victory many times. Young friends want to handle things their way, you know…sorrow for sorrow, even young Christians. But they listen when I tell them H.G. & I have been married 41 years & God does care & helps me find my way through marriage, kids, life in general. It’s true, Jesus is a present help in trouble.

Leave a Reply

