Reconnected

coaxLast Saturday morning the Satellite Internet I use had no signal.
I didn’t think much about it because, even though it was clear weather here, there could have been a problem at the uplink.
Besides Linda and I were about to leave for Lufkin.

When I arrived back home several hours later the Internet still wasn’t working.
I rebooted the modem but it didn’t help.
I began to inspect the outside components. It had been windy so maybe the dish had worked loose and turned a bit. It was solid.

I started checking the connectors. The one at the dish seemed tight and secure.
However when I wiggled the coax wire outside the entry point on the house, the connector came apart and I saw a spark.
A trip back inside revealed that the modem was now completely dead.

I called repair and Tuesday was the earliest day it could be repaired.

Now I know that there are many that live without any Internet but Linda and I are not two of them. I use the Internet for entertainment like Facebook, information like the weather, and for studying for sermons.
I pay bills online and use email to communicate with others.

I also could not send my Morning Thought. It takes the Internet to do a blog!

I felt cut off.

It funny; while reading my New Living Translation Bible I came upon a scripture that mentions being cut off.

My heart is filled with bitter sorrow and unending grief for my people, my Jewish brothers and sisters. I would be willing to be forever cursed—cut off from Christ!—if that would save them. Rom 9:2-3

I would rather not be cut off from the Internet. I find it too useful of a tool in everyday life.
And I certainly would not want to be cut off from Christ. I understand what Paul is saying and the intense love he had for his people.

I also think about how many have cut off themselves from God. They don’t think about His forgiveness or salvation; they don’t pray, read the Bible, or attend church fellowship.

The day will come when they will wish they had not cut off Christ.

Well, back to my repair job – they came and within a few minutes I was reconnected to the world via the Internet.

Hmmm… shouldn’t you and I be spiritual repairmen and help reconnect others to God?

2 thoughts on “Reconnected

  1. I love how every day events take us right back to the scriptures. The Word of God does apply in ever part of our lives! Every event is designed to bring us closer to our Creator. And it does hurt when people don’t want to hear it, or see it in your life. They just don’t want God.

Leave a Reply

