Easter?

chocolate bunny copyEaster.
To me the word means only one thing – the resurrection of Jesus.
Perhaps when I was young I may have associated it with colored eggs, baskets of green grass, and chocolate bunnies.
I still love boiled eggs but I can do without the coloring.
I love chocolate and it makes no difference if it’s shaped like a bunny, an egg, or in a bar with almonds.
I have no need of woven baskets of fake green grass.

Eggs and bunnies have nothing to do with the resurrection of Christ. His resurretion has everything to do with securing eternal life for those that would first trust in what He did three days earlier.

Easter is found in the Bible but only in the King James Version and it is a mistranslation; Acts 12:4 KJV – And when he had apprehended him, he put him in prison, and delivered him to four quaternions of soldiers to keep him; intending after Easter to bring him forth to the people.

The Greek word translated in the KJV as Easter is pascha. Elsewhere in the New Testament it is translated as Passover.
Pascha is derived from the Hebrew word Pesach or Passover.

Easter would have been a foreign idea to the Hebrews and the early church, composed mainly of Hebrews.
Many say that Easter was named for a pagan holiday after a goddess named Ishtar.
People can say many things about many days.

It is said that our nation was founded on the principles of Judeo-Chrisitan thought. Then we are told that it wasn’t.
Who are we to believe?

History is often rewritten to benefit religion, politics, or society.

I will stick to what I believe is the truth – that the Bible is God’s word and that Jesus is the Savior, the only way to the Father.
I believe that in Jesus we find the fulfillment of all that God has had written.
I do not celebrate Easter. I celebrate Jesus.
I do not live for Easter but I live in the service of my Lord and Savior Jesus.

2 thoughts on “Easter?

  1. Jesus did say that to the pure all things are pure. I know too that Adam & Eve desired knowledge, and disobey ed the one law of God. I wonder if today we gain knowledge God would rather we stay away from, like Isthar. One thing for sure, if my God, JESUS, is not center of a thing I want nothing to do with it.

Leave a Reply

