What To Do When Things Heat Up!

hot-sun-thermometerThe outdoor temperature soared up to 102 yesterday afternoon with a heat index that had it feeling like 108.
I had some things I had to do as soon as I got home at 4pm, so I changed my clothes and out I went.
The grass cracked under my feet as I walked across the lawn.
The dogs were lying in fresh dirt under the shade of a nearby tree.
Across the pasture, the trees seem to shimmy as waves of heat from the ground passed in front of them.
And yet in the heat of the day I worked outside for about an hour and I never perspired!
That’s right, I didn’t sweat one drop.
How is that possible in this kind of weather?
What was I wearing?
Shorts and t-shirt, the non-air conditioned kind.
Did I hydrate myself with a gallon of Gatorade before working outside?
No. I didn’t have anything to drink when I got home and I didn’t have anything until I went back into the house.
So how was I able to work in such adverse heat and not sweat?
That’s easy; I was pressure washing the house so I was constantly surrounded by a cool mist of water.
This reminds me of Psalm 1; blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the path of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful; but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and in His law he meditates day and night. He shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that brings forth its fruit in its season, whose leaf also shall not wither; and whatever he does shall prosper.
When tempers flare, God can restore a cool calmness.
If your life heats up and becomes unbearable, it is God that can refresh.
He is that Living Water which will cause you never to thirst again.

2 thoughts on “What To Do When Things Heat Up!

  1. God is awesome!!! Yesterday we went into the hospital for Harold’s knee surgery. He has hi blood pressure any way- each time the nurse took it it was higher. Dangerously so. The doctor took him back in any way. After surgery Harold’s BP was unuseually normal. Last night he slept unuseualy well. Before surgery a person is given a medicine to slow the heart rate so they can be intabaited. Praise God the surgery is doing extreordenarily good for Harold. He is to be off his leg for 6-8 weeks. And last month were able to pay off our land. And we have an income from another source, a royality check from someone else’s blessing. Truely unexpected! Father God is the best!

Leave a Reply

