Reprimand Jesus?

rebukeMatt 16:22 – But Peter took him aside and began to reprimand him for saying such things. “Heaven forbid, Lord,” he said. “This will never happen to you!”

Jesus had just told the disciples that He would be killed and resurrected the third day.
For the disciples I think it was easy to understand the “killed” part. But they could not comprehend nor believe the resurrect part.

Peter reprimanded the Lord – to rebuke or correct Him! He sought to “un-inspire” Jesus from doing this!

In this story I have always looked at the result of what happened next in verse 23.
Today I see the cause of it.

There are always those that will attempt to un-inspire you. They will tear down what you are building up.

It’s not just religious or spiritual. You can be an artist, inventor, a politician, or a carpenter and there will be someone to tell you that you aren’t good enough to do what you do. Or what you are doing won’t work, no one will buy it, and no one will come or support.

There was a time that FM radio or TV was just a fad. No one will want that!
Steve Jobs, of Apple fame, once lacked direction and dropped out of college. I wonder if he ever heard, “You’ll never amount to anything!”

I remember my own dad told me that I could not…should not be a preacher!

Now I understand, “Get behind me, Satan!”

Just like Jesus, Abba Father is directing your life. You want to encourage others, share the Gospel, and be the best Christian you can.

Do not listen to the reprimand of others. Do not let them “shut you down”!
Speak verse 23 and keep your divine appointment.

Abba Father, I seek to do Your will but sometimes I hear others saying that I can’t. I only try to inspire and encourage but it is met with un-inspiring discouragement. Help me to keep my sight on You and not on that which others would restrict me to do. In Jesus’ name, YES&AMEN

2 thoughts on “Reprimand Jesus?

  1. Powerful message for us to persevere when we feel called to do something. We may not always receive support from others, but it si the Lord we are to be pleasing, not man. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

