Where is your name written?

book of lifeSomething I’ve noticed is how many have their name on a church roll somewhere and never attend church.
In one church the membership numbered 168 but the actual number that came to service was more like 40.
Another church had almost an identical statistic.

There are so many depending on a church roll to get them into God’s presence.
When we left Macedonia Baptist neither Linda or I would join the church we began attending.

There are three ways to join a Baptist church; by letter from another like-faith Baptist church, by salvation and water immersion baptism, and by statement.

My idea about church roll and membership changed. I didn’t see any purpose in keeping track of people who had no intention of attending church. Please don’t get me wrong, I will contact those that come and then suddenly quit coming; but I’ve also noticed that having a name on a church roll isn’t enough to keep them in the fellowship.

Instead it takes a personal commitment!

When Linda and I felt led to start CrossRoads Christian Center Church, we were also led not to do a church roll.
I minister to those that want to accept Jesus as Savior.
I baptize those that accept Jesus and are willing to be baptized.
Our church accepts those that have made a profession of faith in another church. I will and have re-baptized that so desire it.
But we do not have a church roll. Those that come to our church must have a self-commitment to do so. They must have a desire to learn and grow with us; to serve in the church.

Now we have seen many people come and go. We’ve even had those come forward and want to join the church. When I explain to them that by professing Christ as Savior and being in the fellowship with us, they have joined – sometimes they never come back.
It’s almost as if they are disappointed that their name is not going to be recorded in a book somewhere and kept up on a shelf at the church.

What each person needs to understand is there is only one book in which your name should be recorded – the Book of Life.

Rev 20:12-15 And I saw the dead, small and great, standing before God, and books were opened. And another book was opened, which is the Book of Life. And the dead were judged according to their works, by the things which were written in the books. The sea gave up the dead who were in it, and Death and Hades delivered up the dead who were in them. And they were judged, each one according to his works. Then Death and Hades were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death. And anyone not found written in the Book of Life was cast into the lake of fire.

It says nothing about church membership or a church roll book. It is this one book that is important for eternal life and there is only one way to have your name found in that book at that most critical time; accept Jesus as Savior!

One thought on “Where is your name written?

  1. I have seen this in nearly all of the churches I have attended. When I became born again, I joined the little baptist Church in my hometown. I gave a testimony about how I became born again, through a song the Lord gave me. After the service, an elderly member of the Church came up to me and said,”You don’t know how much this is going to help our Church” I got the impression right then that something was wrong in that congregation. Yes, they have many more member on their rolls than actually attend Church.
    You have a lot in common with my current Pastor, whom, by the way, I met through KSWP more than 25 years ago.

Leave a Reply

