Be content with your blessings!

I didn’t realize that people griped, complained, moaned, and groaned so much until I got involved with Facebook!
If discontentment could be weighed, it would weigh a ton; thus there is a ton of discontentment on Facebook!
Thankfulness is also present and weighs just as much but discontentment seems to speak louder, is much larger, and able to cover thankfulness.
Now I have heard complaints all of my life and have even given a few myself.
But it seems amplified greatly with so many doing it in one place.
Many times the complaint is over one thing; one small thing when the bulk of everything else in their life is wonderful.
I remember an old Southern Gospel song that talked about listing your blessings and troubles side by side; and your blessings will outnumber your troubles every time.
God’s word has a few things that deal with this.
Paul said in Phil 4:11-13 – Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
In 1 Tim 6:6-9 – Now godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content.
And finally in Heb 13:5 – Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have.
Be content and bless God for what you have; bless and do not curse. Rom 12:14
Happiness is not purchased; happiness is contentment!
As Rabbi Schachtel has said – Happiness is not having what you want, but wanting what you have.
The greatest happiness and contentment is in having Jesus as Savior. After this, everything else pales in comparison.

One thought on “Be content with your blessings!

  1. I take the Romans referance as a command, “BE CONTENT…!” The rest is, “I, Jesus, will never leave nor forsake you”. Truely with our Creator on our side who or what can be against us? We have the power & wisdom to “get” through (with the help of the Holy Spirit) – in Revelation it’s called overcomming. The overcommer gets all the rewards. That’s where I’m headed.

Leave a Reply

